Climbing Mt. Fuji anytime soon? Forecast the weather yourself!

I have never climbed Mt. Fuji; I have only seen it from afar. I heard that the experience of climbing the mountain is quite exhilarating. When I was researching divination in Japan I came across an article explaining omens¹.  And in a footnote to the article, which referenced a separate book on folklore², was a sampling of the different cloud formations on Mt. Fuji with their respective weather conditions.  By looking at the shape of the clouds it may be possible to predict the weather. Here is an English translation I have made with the name of the clouds, an image of the cap cloud on Mt. Fuji, and then the predicted weather condition: Fine, windy, wind & rain, and rainy.  Mt. Fuji weather prediction chart (English)

Mt. Fuji weather prediction (roman characters English)

And for those of you who would like the Japanese language version, well here it is.  Mt. Fuji weather prediction chart (Japanese)

Mt. Fuji weather prediction 001

(1) 木村博 「前兆」『講座・日本の民俗宗教4 巫俗と俗信』 1979

(2) 笹原俊雄 『我入道の小史と民俗』 1976

 

